Early Years Foundation Stage

We are currently reviewing our curriculum and this page will be updated in due course.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Children will learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

         Communication and language;

         Physical development; and

         Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:



         Understanding the world; and

         Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure  that the activities   are suited to your child’s unique needs and are both fun and engaging. 

The Characteristics of Effective Learning underpin our children's leanring withing the Early Years Foundation Stage. The way in which they engage with others and their environment - playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically - underpin learning and development across all areas and support the children to remain effective and motivated learners. 


Go back to > Curriculum Pages